SEATTLE, WA – January 30, 2012
The Center for Ethical Leadership has selected the recipients of the 2012 Leadership Legacy Award. This award identifies and celebrates Puget Sound individuals or groups whose vision, leadership, and commitment advance the common good in local communities. The Center is particularly interested in celebrating those who are often out of the traditional spotlight.
This year’s recipients are:
 Gregory Davis, President, Rainier Beach Community Empowerment Coalition;
 Erick Haakenson, Owner, Jubilee Farms;
 Dr. Jody McVittie, Executive Director, Sound Discipline.
James Whitfield, president of Leadership Eastside, is the keynote speaker.
The awards will be presented at the 7th Annual Legacy Event, Thursday, March 15, 6:30-8:30P at the Swedish Cultural Center in Seattle (map). Doors open at 6:00P.
Tickets are $55 and include dinner. Tickets must be purchased in advance online at .
The Bill Grace Leadership Legacy Award was created by the Center’s Board of Trustees in 2005 to honor founder Dr. Bill Grace.
Recent recipients:
2011 – Alaric Bien, Chinese Information and Service Center; Paola Maranan, Children’s Alliance; Judy Pigott, Personal Safety Nets
2010 – Mary Flowers, citizen leader for racial equity; Eric Liu, Guiding Lights Network; the Greater Tacoma Community Foundation
2009 – Milenko Matanovic, Pomegranate Center; Mark Okazaki, Neighborhood House; Jon Ramer, the Interra Project
2008 – Julia Sterkovsky, Seattle Human Services Coalition; Anne Stadler, pioneer of Open Space technology and Appreciative Inquiry; the Asian Pacific Islander Community Leadership Foundation
About the Center for Ethical Leadership:
Founded in 1991, the Center is the pioneering ethical leadership organization in the Pacific Northwest, helping to build the collective leadership capacity for those advancing social change around the country.



The event is from 6:30 – 8:30 at the Swedish Cultural Center – doors open at 6:00.


There is more info about the event and the other winners in the attached news release.





Center for Ethical Leadership